Latest Carlow GAA News

Great performance not rewarded

Kildare 2-7

Carlow 1-9

O’Byrne Cup 2nd Round

By Kieran Murphy


A last minute goal from full-forward Padraig Fogarty denied Carlow what would have been a deserved victory over Kildare in this second round O’Byrne Cup tie in Athy last night.

The same player touched a high ball to the back of the Carlow net in the fifth minute as the home side built up a 1-3 to 0-0.

Suddenly Carlow came alive and for the remainder of the half and against the wind they dominated.

At half-time, Kildare led 1-5 to 0-4 so it was all to play for in the second period. In what was the best performance by the Barrowsiders in many years, they clawed their way back into the game and with eleven minutes left David Bambrick struck for the equalising goal. When Ed Finnegan added a point, Carlow supporters were entitled to believe. Even more so when Daniel St. Ledger converted a long range free in injury time.

There was time for more. Kildare worked the ball up the field and Fogarty came to his side’s rescue with an unstoppable shot to break Carlow hearts.



Kildare: Shane Connolly; Ciaran Fitzpatrick, Peter Kelly, Sean Campbell; Willie Burke, Kevin Murnaghan, Colin O’Shea; Brian Kinahan, Gary White; David Whyte, Padraig O’Neill (0-1), David Slattery; Darroch Mulhall (0-4,2fs), Padraig Fogarty (2-2,1f), Seamus Hanafin. Subs: Gavin Farrell for Murnaghan (h/t), Seamus McNally for Fitzpatrick (h/t), Eamon Murphy for Slattery (45 mins), Eamonn Callaghan for Kelly (52 mins), Cian O’Donoghue for Burke (56 mins), Fionn Dowling for Mulhall (57 mins).

Carlow: Andrew O’Brien; David Kinsella, Shane Redmond, Kieran Nolan; Jason Kane, Daniel St. Ledger (0-1f), Benny Kavanagh; Sean Gannon, Darragh Foley (0-2fs); Ed Finnegan (0-2), Ciaran Moran, Alan Kelly; Paul Broderick (0-4,3fs), Hugh Gahan, Eoin Doyle. Subs: Darragh O’Brien for Doyle (h/t), David Bambrick (1-0), for Moran (50 mins), Mark Fitzgerald for Kane (59 mins), Eoghan Ruth for Kelly (63 mins), Diarmuid Cronin for Broderick (64 mins), Michael Meaney for Finnegan (65 mins).

Referee: Stephen Johnston (Louth).