Latest Carlow GAA News

Hurlers unlucky not to claim the win

Carlow 1-13

NUIG 2-10

Walsh Cup 1st Round

By Kieran Murphy


Seventeen minutes into this first round Walsh Cup encounter in Dr. Cullen Park on Sunday, Carlow looked to be heading for a comprehensive defeat when they trailed 2-4 to 0-2. They looked lethargic and were losing most of the little battles around the field. Soft goals from Bobby Duggan and Gerry Hennelly helped put distance between the sides.

Slowly Carlow got back into the game and it was the experienced Eddie Coady who took a pass from Eddie Byrne to find the net for Carlow.

It was a huge tonic and having played against the wind, the Barrowsiders trailed 2-8 to 1-4 at the interval.

Helped by huge performances from Diarmuid Byrne, Alan Corcoran, John Rogers and Eddie Byrne, Carlow slowly but surely reeled in the students. The sides were level in the final quarter and the rate of scoring dried up. Points by Stephen Hynes and Niall O’Brien nudged the students ahead but Carlow kept their heads and replied through David English and Paul Coady to ensure the points were shared.


Carlow: Kevin Kehoe (St. Mullins); Alan Corcoran (Erins Own), Micheál Ryan (Ballinkillen), Eoin Nolan (Naomh Eoin); Richard Coady (Mount Leinster Rangers), John Rogers (Erins Own), Ger Coady (St. Mullins 0-1); David English (Ballinkillen 0-1), Diarmuid Byrne (MLR 0-3); Edward Coady (MLR 1-0), Eddie Byrne (MLR 0-1), Jack Kavanagh (St. Mullins 0-1); Craig Wall (Ballinkillen), Seamus Murphy (St. Mullins 0-1), Paul Coady (MLR 0-4fs). Subs: Hugh Paddy O’Byrne (MLR 0-1) for Wall (43 mins), Sean Murphy (Ballinkillen) for E. Coady (44 mins), Shane Kavanagh (Naomh Eoin) for Rogers (60 mins), Andrew Gaul (Ballinkillen) for E. Byrne (64 mins).


NUIG (All Galway unless stated otherwise): Ciaran Fahy; Liam Kilcline (Roscommon), John Hanbury, Robbie Lane; Cormac Diviney, Conor Cleary (Clare), Stephen Hynes (0-1); Eamonn Brannigan, Stephen Ward (Clare); Niall Deasy (Clare), Niall O’Brien (0-3), Bobby Duggan (Clare 1-5, 1-4fs); Cathal Mannion (1-0), Gerry Hennelly (0-1), Shane Dooley (Tipperary). Subs: Gordon Joyce (Cork) for Cleary (46 mins), Brendan O’Connor (Limerick) for Dooley (52 mins), Kieran Ryan for Hennelly (67 mins).

Referee: Peter Burke (Kilkenny).