Latest Carlow GAA News

convincing win for Carlow C.B.S.

Carlow CBS 1-9

Bunclody FCJ 0-5

South Leinster P.P. Schools SF “B” Round 1

By Kieran Murphy



Having been hit with an early point and relieved to see an FCJ Bunclody 3rd minute shot come back of the butt of the left-hand upright, Carlow CBS made sure of victory in the first half with Shane O’Neill landing six points to help his side into a 1-7 to 0-2 lead. Colm Hulton scored the goal on 16 minutes and with conditions deteriorating by the minute in the second half, the eventual winners were happy to fall back into defence and see out this South Leinster SF “B” first round tie in Bunclody.


Carlow CBS: Ciaran Byrne (Tinryland); Colin Byrne (Ballinabranna), Keelan Garrigan (Killeshin), Ciaran Murphy (Éire Óg); Dylan Salter (Éire Óg), Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen), Conor McGrath (Tinryland); Niall Lowry (Tinryland), Shane O’Neill (0-6,5fs), Ciaran Larkin (Tinryland), James Brennan (Éire Óg), Colin Hulton (Ballymun-Kickhams 1-1); Adam Deering (Killeshin), Ryan O’Grady (Graiguecullen 0-2), Adam Murphy (Éire Óg). Subs: Cian Fitzpatrick (Palatine) for Larkin (25 mins), Jordan Morrissey (Éire Óg) for Murphy (ht), Jack O’Neill (Castledermot) for Hulton (50 mins).


FCJ Bunclody (Half-way House-Bunclody unless stated otherwise): Brian Hancock (Kildavin-Clonegal); Michael Fennell (Starlights), Ciaran Pender (Duffry Rovers), Michael Redmond (Kildavin-Clonegal); Eoin Kelly, Andrew Kelly,  Conor Smyth (Kildavin-Clonegal 0-1); Cormac Byrne (Ballyhogue), Fintan Harrington (Kildavin-Clonegal); John Dunne, David Foley (Kildavin-Clonegal), Shane Franklin (0-2); Andy Doyle (St. Patricks 0-1), Paddy Dobbs (St. Patricks), Eoin Roberts (Kildavin-Clonegal). Subs: Martin O’Connor for Redmond (18 mins), Gavin Watchorn (0-1) for Fennell (50 mins), Dermot Crean for Pender (52 mins), Colm Redmond (Duffry Rovers) for Dobbs (58 mins).

Referee: Dicky Murphy (Wexford)